Shouting from the roof tops

I just want to share my weight loss success with everyone. I have dropped from 20 stones to 14 stones. A massive 6 stones gone. That’s the equivalent of 84 bags of sugar. If you picture 84 bags of sugar piled on the table, it’s impossible to accept that equates to all the fat I’ve lost. My wife reminded me that I also once considered getting a stairlift to help me up the stairs.

Not surprisingly, I’ve had to get a new wardrobe and, as we eased restrictions, I went to Edinburgh yesterday to get my shirts. After years of buying XXXL size shirts, I bought four large shirts and they fit comfortably. For me, this is a big deal.

I’ve been using Huel, and other soylent products too, for the past five years or so. At the moment, I’m having Huel for breakfast and lunch and occasionally for dinner too. That’s 800 calories a day from huel. If I take it for dinner too, that’s a daily consumption of 1,200 calories of good quality nutrition. As everyone who consumes Huel will agree, you can go four or five hours without feeling the need to snack or experience a sugar crash. If your body needs 2,000 calories a day, you are burning up fat to make up the shortfall. A pound of fat is the equivalent of 3,500 calories. You can’t fail to lose weight if you can thrive on just 1,200 calories. Losing 84 pounds of fat equates to burning up 294,000 calories. That’s 147 days worth of calories. It’s so much fat lost that I really find it hard to believe I was carrying so much fat.

My target now is to drop to 12 stones. I feel great and it is so much easier now I’m not lugging 20 stones with every step. Climbing stairs is so much easier. It’s little wonder that my feet and knees have developed osteoarthritis. Losing weight and taking turmeric supplements have made quite a difference to my arthritis. Even my diabetic blood results are looking great.