Going Huel full-time. Healthy?

Hey Guys,

I’ve been considering going from having Huel for breakfast to having Huel for all meals of the day. When I asked a doctor friend about this they said they couldn’t recommend it and that solid normal, healthy food was better. I was wondering if this is true and if it would be a bad move to go Huel for all meals of the day? Looking online there doesn’t seem to be many immediately apparent clinical studies on this.

For the record I have no issue with the taste of Huel, live a healthy lifestyle and would eat healthy, non-junk-food meals were I to not go full Huel.

Hi,

I’m not sure why it wouldn’t be healthy honestly. Now, I’m no expert but from my understanding Huel contains everything your body needs including phytonutrients. I am 100% most of the time. I feel great. I chew gums and occasionally have granola and my bowels work fine, too. I haven’t had blood tests or such but I imagine they would be better now compared to my previous diet consiting of vegan junk food.

1 Like

Most of the time medical people say these things because they don’t actually understand what Huel is. Nutritionally complete powdered foods have been around for years and some of the older ones were very poor quality using things like maltodextrin as the main carb source.

There are people on the forums who are 100%. Here is one thread. I believe the only draw back was a folate deficiency. Huel has since increased the amount of folate since this thread was started.

Huel also funded two month long clinical trials of 100% users, the article is here.

A user once reported that their teeth started to feel weak being 100% Huel, so maybe using chewing gum would assist with that.

3 Likes

@Brahms My recommendation would be to learn more about nutrition so that you can educate your doctor (or just find a doctor who is more knowledgeable already).