Huel Bars and Digestive Issues

Has anyone (who doesn’t have this problem with powder) experienced digestive issues with consuming Huel bars?
I have had no issues whatsoever with the powder and I’ve been consuming it daily for about 2 months now. I didn’t even have any problems right at the beginning. No problems at all.

But I received my first box of bars a few days ago, and have been having one a day for the past 5 days, and since then have been having terrible trouble with my guts - bloating, flatulence, grumbling stomach noises, pain, changes in bowel habits etc

I find it really odd that I’m fine with the powder but not the bars. I just had to double check that they are gluten-free (yep they definintely are). So what ingredient differences are there that could cause such significantly different reactions?

Has anyone else experienced this problem too with the bars? And subsequently managed to find out what it is about the bars that causes this? Will it resolve in time do you think?

Thanks in advance for any advice / suggestions / solutions / answers!!

2 Likes

Nope. Polydextrose is the only ingredient that may cause an issue but not on one bar a day as far as I know.

Sigh… I wonder what it is then. Really odd that my guts don’t like it.
I’m fine with other similar food bars e.g. nakd, pulsin etc

2 Likes

I also swapped my powder to Choc Mint premix on the same day, but other than containing sucralose AND stevia, this powder is identical to all the others so I can’t see that being the problem. Unless its the sudden increase in sweetener consumption - I was previously always mixing my sweetened flavour with UU. But thats such a tiny increase in sweetener - I can’t see that causing such a massive disturbance all of a sudden.

2 Likes

I get similar effects. Can only get away with eating half a bar at a time.

2 Likes