Huel & Fat

Hi,

I’ve just received my first delivery of Huel Ready to Drink as I work on the road a lot and it’s useful for me for the convenience.

I’ve just had a look at the nutritional values printed on the side and it says that one bottle contains 400 calories, 18g of which is fat. I recall reading that 1g of fat is worth 9 calories, so a 400 calorie bottle has 162 of those calories coming from fat (so Huel is effectively 40.5% fat when you consider the calorie value).

The second point is that if I am to consume 2,000 calories a day, assuming I drank 5 bottles (is that allowed??? - Huel says it is a complete food option), then I would consume 90g of fat. Guidelines suggest between 44 and 78 g of fat per day.

I’m guessing I’ve made an error somewhere because the numbers look too high in terms of fat content. Can anyone enlighten me please?

1 Like

Interesting question. I notice you’d also be getting 100g of protein in that case, which seems a bit high (but I’m no expert on nutrition)

1 Like

Full nutritional break-down of the RTD here

I’d recommend reading the whole article (link above) if you’re interested enough in the entire nutrition of the RTD, but here’s what it says about fats:

“Fat is more energy-dense than carbohydrate and protein, so the Huel Ready-to-drink formula includes large amounts of healthy fats in order to achieve less volume and an easy-to-consume Huel meal in a bottle. Moreover, there are some fatty acids that are required for optimal health, and Huel Ready-to-drink is rich in the fats that provide these essential fatty acids.”

Fats: Rapeseed, flaxseed, sunflower and coconut