Huel leaves me hungry

Hello!

I’m new to huel, I’m only three days into replacing my usual breakfast of an egg on toast with huel and I’m hungry!

For the first two days I went the 3 scoops an 450ml of water - but was just so hungry by mid morning, still a good 2 hours away from lunch and an apple just wasn’t going to cut it.

So today I’ve upped to 3.5 scoops and I’m still pretty hungry.

Just wondered whether anyone else felt really hungry after starting Huel? Is it just my body getting used to it or do I need to up my Huel powder again?

1 Like

I find it doesn’t fill me up for quite as long as I imagined it would, at breakfast time especially.

One thing I find helps is just to have it slightly later in the morning. I actually find it easier to push breakfast back to say 10am, rather than have it at 7am and be craving lunch by 10 (it’s also significantly easier to have your Huel at work at 10am, than it is to do the same with egg and toast)

Aother trick is to add fruit/veg into your Huel. Carrots and Kale work particularly well alongside fruits and even work with vanilla Huel/flavour boosts, even chocolate - their flavours are pretty neutral, they add a bit of texture (which might not be for you) but that’s all. Most importantly though, they add more “bulk” to the Huel, without adding many calories. 50g of carrots and 50g frozen kale adds maybe 50 calories, but it adds a lot of bulk for those 50 cals and can make the difference you need it to - especially if you can also hold out til 9 or 10 am :stuck_out_tongue:

Apparently Kale might also be some kind of super-food. I must say I’ve never witnessed anything extraordinarily special about it, but it still serves my purposes nicely

(note - the suggestion to add carrots and kale kind of assumes that you make your Huel with a blender/hand blender. I sometimes forget that a lot of people just shake it)