Should I change from 5:2? (M, 102kg, 6") Any experience?

I’ve been using Huel for a couple of months (well, started before Christmas but ate what I wanted over the holidays!). Starting weight around 107kg, now hovering around 102kg. I’m a fairly broad, big boned guy - I like to think I carry it well, but definitely still flabbier than I should be. Once or twice a week I do a short, Doug McGuff style workout (one super slow set to failure on various push/pull machines), hopefully to maintain or even increase lean muscle whilst I aim to lose 10-20kg.

Now, I can be very disciplined, but best in short bursts. Currently, I use Huel for 2-3 days a week to limit kcals to 500 on those 2-3 days. I workout after a fast day usually, and then eat a bigger, “cheat-ier” meal. I’m more relaxed at weekends, and then back to the fast-500 on Monday morning.

However, I’ve noticed this does come with significantly fluctuating energy levels, and despite what I expect should be my caloric deficit, I feel I’ve stalled at 102kg for a few weeks (I’m always trying to weigh in the morning after a low-cal day, to standardise how glycogen-replete I am at weigh-in so I don’t get bummed out by water weight fluctuations!). I’m also a bit worried about lean muscle preservation if going to low; I’ve seen people talk about a 1600kcal minimum for guys but don’t know where this comes from.

I’m really interested to know what people’s experience of a 5:2 versus every day approach is. I can keep going - honestly, I think if I knew it was working I could push cals as low as I wanted (I know, this sounds a bit disordered - I promise you it isn’t, I eat normal meals regularly with my family!), but I’m wondering if taking in MORE protein but spreading deficit across the week might be better. Like, 800 kcals from Huel each day for breakfast and lunch, which will give me 80g protein, then a normal meal which hopefully will be <1000kcal, and maybe an extra treat on workout day…?