Going 100% Black Edition - Advice/Opinions/Potential Issues?

Huel has been a godsend for me. I’ve been drinking it for over 2 years now, and for over a year it has been my primary food source, from which on average I’ve pretty much been getting 2000kcals a day.

I’ve always had the original flavour so was immensely disappointed to see it being phased out, I’ve tried all the other flavours as well as the flavour pouches and I’m not a fan at all.

I’m going to trial 100% Black Edition as I know I’ll have to leave v2.3 behind eventually.

Interested to hear if there would be any potential issues with such a low carb/high fat diet, in addition to consuming 4x the daily recommended amount of protein that obtaining 2000kcals a day is going to provide me?

Cheers!

3 Likes

Original hasn’t been officially discontinued as far as I know but you could make something very similar by buying U/U, some sucralose from bulk powders and some vanilla flavour.

ooh…controversial. Vanilla flavours can be hard to get right.

2 Likes

@Coup The outlet site says “Available for a limited time only while stock lasts” so appears to be simply a matter of time.

Whenever I’ve experimented with U/U in the past I could never find a flavour strong enough to mask the overwhelming blandness, was very strange. Never did try sucralose though so something to keep in mind.

Nobody have any thoughts on going 100% Black Edition?

The main concern would be consuming 200g protein daily. I already began yesterday anyway and will trial it for at least a week or two just wanted to see if any of the Huel team would provide any thoughts or advise against it etc?

I’ll be interested to see how you get on. I’ve been happy with Huel 2.3 original for one or two meals a day and haven’t found either variant of Huel Black to be as compatible for happy digestion. Hopefully 100% will speed your adaptation to the different ingredients and levels of protein etc. Good luck!

Ok, I’ll give you some personal thoughts.