Lower Carb Huel / Keto

Hi guys,

I have been using Huel for nearly 2 years. I use it pretty much everyday (either lunch or dinner, sometimes both).

Lately I have been trying switch my diet to a lower carb and more “keto” version (not fully Keto since thats a bit extreme) and I am feeling GREAT, with way more energy than ever and zero cravings (how is this possible?!) for sugar, chocolate or unhealthy mid afternoon snacks. I workout 4 times a week and do yoga twice. I am pretty active.

However, despite this new variety of my diet, I am 100% supportive towards the huel project and love how simple it makes to eat healthy.

I have been reducing my Huel intake in order to reduce my carbs: instead of 3 or 4 scoops, I have been using 2. In addition I have been including higher fats as: avocado, plenty of coconut oil, MCT oil, organic and Grass fed (clean) protein when closer to my workouts.

I wonder if anyone is in the same situation? how have you been upgrading your huel?

2 Likes

There are a lot of threads on here about low carb or keto Huel and alternatives.

Do you do any testing to see if you are in ketosis or are you just aiming to be low carb?

I’d like to give it a try but not quite sure how it all works!

I have been on Ketosis but without consuming huel. It is not possible to be on ketosis while consuming huel due to carbs on it.

Ketosis is not for everyone but it is incredible for a short/medium period of time - either to reverse diabetes (controversial, I know), sugar tolerance and tons of other benefits.

Everyone will react differently to it (keto flu, tiredness) and in my opinion like any other “diet” is not sustainable on a long time. You will end up eating carbs here and there, drinking alcohol and so on.

But if you don’t have any medial condition, are not go on holidays soon and are willing to cook and spend a bit more money on good quality veggies, meat and time cooking you should try and see and do you feel.