My initial Huel experience

I thought I’d share my first experience of Huel.

A bit of background: I’m a programmer by trade, and my hobbies include aikido and morris dancing, so I sit around all day and then go and sweat a lot in the evenings. I’m ridiculously tall and my belly is too big and I’d really like to carry less weight around (square-cube ratios mean I land very hard when someone throws me at aikido) and need to form a coherent plan for how to achieve that.

I absolutely love food, but I also don’t like the time it takes to make it properly so I’ve been interested since Soylent was first announced in partially replacing conventional food for the sake of convenience, nutritional assurance and getting a better handle on my energy intake. I’ve previously eaten quite a lot of Joylent, but they also have a habit of shipping me boxes which are barely held together by their inadequate parcel tape (and they get delivered by a terrible courier), and I’m bored of their flavours and they don’t have an unflavoured version (they promised one, but it has yet to appear). The plan has been to find a suitable Soylent-like product and eat quite a lot of that, allowing myself to put the appropriate effort into food when I can so I can really enjoy it, and not eat inadequate prepackaged sandwiches ever again.

So, let’s try Huel.

Shipping: excellent. Interlink/DPD are an excellent courier, happily delivering my Huel to a local shop so I can pick it up without having to go through the hassle of getting it from the post room at work (and then carrying a giant box home on the tram) or picking it up from the depot or involving my neighbours who always want to have an extended discussion about why I should welcome Jesus into my life before they’ll let me have my parcel.