New to Huel & Bulking

Hello, I’m Richard and I’ve come to Huel to fix my calorie deficit.

I’m studying at Cambridge and row with my college, I’m also trying to bulk, of myself and for rowing. The end requirement for this is at least 4500 kcal, but I think probably 5500-6000kcal in reality. I have been eating 3-5 meals a day and whilst 5 was working, I just lost too much time from my degree and also digesting it all was a problem.

In a couple of hours I’m going to take my first meal of Huel which is quite exciting. I wanted to know if anyone else has done the same - has it worked? I also wanted to know what you thought of my plan:

kcal on RHS (hopefully - tell me if wrong)
Cereal, often porridge, always with honey, or sometimes peanut butter & Nutella. ~1000
Protein shake if rowed in morning ~400
Lunch (cooked moderate size) ~ 600-700
Huel 1: 5 scoops with milk to the top ~ 1000
Dinner (cooked bigger than lunch) ~700-900
Protein shake if gymming close after dinner ~ 400
Protein shake after gym if I can handle it with Huel as well ~ 400
Huel 2: 5 scoops with milk ~ 1000

Total kcal: 4700-5400
I hope these estimates were as conservative as I think and actually this will be much more.

This brings up the questions:
Do 5 scoops work ok?
Does milk work well (vanilla Huel)?
Do I need to worry about overloading any nutrients, in particular: is whey pointless with 300% protein? My real food will contain some but is not a reliable source.

Many thanks,
Richard

It has become very clear that 5 scoops is too much, at least in one go. :no_mouth:

Edit: Further update. Maybe this is my own fault but I’m suffering serious nausea and after taste. Its stuck to the back of my throat and nothing is moving it :frowning:

Hi Richard,

If you use a blender it will be smoother and easier.

I can get 5 scoops in a blender you, need to add a little water first, say 300ml, then 3 scoops, shaker, add some more water and 2 more scoops, then shake, then add more water.