Seeking recommendations for bodyweight exercise kits

Hi,

After some very nice initial (2-month) weightloss experiences, I’m now getting to the point where I’d like to add more exercise, specifically weight. I walk quite a lot, and I have a vibration plate at home - which I very much recommend, though I didn’t get it for weightloss, just to deal with lower back pain/stiffness. I’m still somewhat self-conscious about going back to the gym - the local one is full of “gym bunnies” who’ll look weird at you when you’re obese and sweating on the treadmill/crosstrainer, so I’d like to lose a bit more before I expose myself to that.

I’ve been pointed at bodyweight exercises, and there seem to be kits you wedge into the door to pull and lift your body weight. My questions:

1. Anybody have experiences with those? Recommended?
  2. Any specific brands? (I’m looking for something that comes with a guide to the exercises, because I’m new to this)
  3. My aim is much more strengthening than “toning” - I simply won’t see a body fat % anywhere near “toning” yet.

All input gratefully received!

2 Likes

As a self confessed gym bunny, honestly, as harsh as it is, get over it. In your mind you think we’re looking at you, but we’re not. We look at ourselves (like 99.9% of the time) , we look at other lifters, we look out of windows, we look at the TVs. With 100% honesty, I can say I’ve never once looked at a fat person doing their cardio. Further to that, if I have looked at them, I’ve thought “Bloody hell good on you chap”.

People who are into fitness appreciate that everyone has to start somewhere and I can assure you, unless you’re dealing with 16 year old curl boys, they’ll look at themselves 100000 times more than they look at you.

Nonetheless, you asked a question and I will respond with this:

https://www.reddit.com/r/bodyweightfitness/comments/5aggb0/calisthenics_beginner_routine/

:smiley:

10 Likes