Sweetened vs. Un-sweetened... thoughts?

Apologies if this has already been discussed at some point.

I’m new to all this and am considering getting on-board the Huel train but wondered what people’s thoughts were about sweetened Vs un-sweetened.

Has anyone tried both?

Did you prefer one over the other?

How easy is it to add real flavour or sweetness (not just syrups) to un-sweetened Huel and did this taste better than the vanilla huel?

Hope someone can help me out as I’m really keen to give this a try.

Many thanks :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I have tried both and unsweetened and unflavoured (U/U) is very hardcore. The taste is very earthy and even with considerable flavour added I could not drink it. You could easily sweeten it. Huel use Sucralose which you can buy online.

1 Like

I find unsweetened too hard to handle and sweetened too sweet so use half and half. Doesn’t matter which versions…all seem fine to me.

1 Like

I would only drink U/U flavoured, but I’ve met folks who drink it neat (not recommended). I didn’t find it hard to flavour though, in fact the sample flavour pack made 9 pretty decent shakes for me (I only make two-scoop shakes maybe that helped). Vanilla new and improved all the way though, it’s delicious and I don’t know why you’d want anything else

Yes, I’ve currently tried.

Old Vanilla (why is there old vanilla!). New Vanilla and UU.

For me, I can’t tell the difference between old and new, they are both quite sweet, but with a subtle flavour.

I got UU because to my brain, adding say maple to it should make it more maple and less maple and vanilla.

So it’s true, if you want a maple flavour, you get a better maple flavour with UU+ Maple.

BUT…

You use a lot more flavour to get there.

UU on it’s own is as other have said really hard cord, so unless you have a reason to reset your taste buds, then I’d look at UU+ flavour.

I posted this in another thread about uu vs vanilla with the mint choc chip flavour.