Can't stop losing weight

I’ve been using Huel for coming up to 3 months as an almost complete meal replacement. I started because I have an extremely fast metabolism and I struggle to gain or even maintain my weight.

I have been having 5x 4 scoop shakes at work, so approximately 3300 calories. In the evening I will then either have another 4 scoop shake or eat a large dinner.

I was hoping this would lead to me gaining weight, but I’m still just maintaining or losing. I don’t think I can get more shakes in during the day without feeling nauseous.

As I said my metabolism has always been very fast, and I am probably more active than most. Still, I’m sure if I ate 4000 calories a day I would be gaining. Is it likely to be just because I’m consuming the vast majority of it as a liquid?

Any assistance would be appreciated. I’m addicted to the convenience of Huel now so am keen to keep using it.

Have you worked out your TDEE?

If not, try this: https://www.iifym.com/tdee-calculator/

According to the link you posted my TDEE is 2678 and BMR is 1770. I hope this helps

Go to a doctor. Seriously.

If your TDEE is 2700 and eating 3300 is not gaining you weight, please go and get a once over just to be sure you’re healthy and well.

A fast metabolism only covers so much and 3000 calories take a lot of muscle mass to maintain weight on.

Not trying to scare or anything, but this is highly unusual and it’s better to be safe than sorry :slight_smile:

It’s actually more like over 4000 after dinner.

Thanks, I will. I have always been this way and never had any real health problems. I went through a stage of being low key anorexic in my teens and I’m not sure if that has effected how my body deals with food.

I’ll get a once over. If all is fine I’ll just have to leave the Huel for now and do the same amount of calories in solid food and see if that helps.

Thanks for the advice

Do you have a physical job, cycle/walk to work or exercise outside of work?