Has anyone tried warm Huel?

Hi all. I’m new to Huel this week, and am loving it so far. I’m doing the breakfast and lunch thing, and having a normal meal in the evening. I’m loving the vanilla flavour though and am not wanting to mess with it at all. What I did want to ask on here was whether anyone had tried a warm version of Huel? Maybe mixing it up like a porridge, using less water? I’m just thinking now the cold weather is on it’s way it would be nice to have a warm breakfast now and again. I just wondered if it mixed well with hot water, and whether a porridge like consistency could be attained.

5 Likes

I’ve not tried it myself, but I have wondered whether to do it as the weather gets colder. I don’t know if heating it up would destroy many of the nutrients. No more than cooking any other kind of food I suppose, so maybe that’s the best way to look at it.

But Huel is mainly oats, so I would say why not give it a try, but maybe make it thicker than you would drink it.

2 Likes

I use warm water regularly to great effect (not using boiling hot water, of course). What I do ist, to start the mix with a bit of cold water and giving it a shake before adding some warm water. It really makes the shake taste much more rich.

2 Likes

I’m going to try Huel porridge tomorrow for breakfast.

1 Like

Good idea. Let us know how you get on and if you add hot water to the powder, or if you mix with cold water then microwave.

I just tried Huel porridge. I put 122g of Huel into a saucepan with about 600ml of water. I then gently heated it and stirred it until it was about the right consistency. It made for a very large bowl of porridge.

The taste was okay, but not great. I think something happens during heating that somehow ruins the vanilla flavour. It’s edible, but definitely not as nice as drinking it cold.