Huel and Kefir Milk

I have been using Huel for about 7 months now.
I have recently been making my own Kefir Milk with whole organic milk, the fermenting process removes the lactose from the milk evidently making it suitable for people who are lactose intolerant.
Home made Kefir milk is an amazing natural pro biotic far superior to anything available in the shops.
I have started mixing in 2 scoops of vanilla Huel and a small amount of the strawberry flavour and a banana, as Kefir can be quite sour depending how long you ferment it. I then put it in a nutri bullet for a quick blend, you don’t want to introduce heat into the kefir as it kills the good bacteria.
Then magic happens !
It is the most amazing shake I have ever tasted and very filling, the excess I store in the fridge to drink at leisure.
You could mix any fruit you like.
Granted it may be more work than some of you want to do, but I think it’s worth the effort for a healthy filling shake.

1 Like

Not a fan of kefir. Tastes like cheesy sick. :stuck_out_tongue:

2 Likes

Haha, it doesn’t if you make it right, it’s like yoghurt :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye::stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye::stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

I buy kefir from morrisons. think it comes in 600 ml bottles.

I just take a swig everytime i fancy and then put it back in the fridge.

Is there a better way to do it to get the benefits?

Not sure i have the time, skills or inclination to make it myself.

Hi,
The kefir you buy in the shops is pasteurised, the supermarkets have to do this otherwise the kefir milk would keep fermenting and the cartons would explode.
The pasteurisation process kills off the healthy bacteria so you are only getting a small amount of pro biotic benefit, you are wasting your money, the supermarkets also put in other additives to make it sweeter.
Making kefir is really easy, the milk feeds the kefir grains and they double in quantity after each ferment.