Huel Black makes me sleepy

Consuming Huel Black for lunch makes me feel sleepy all afternoon. It is not the feeling of being tired but more general fatigue and inability to concentrate. I really want Huel to work so seeking advice here.

I have no prior experience with Huel. My usual eating habits used to be like this:

• breakfast: Greek yogurt with oats, chia seeds, fruit
  • lunch: whatever is left by the family, usually some meat with pasta or rice and on occasional salad
  • afternoon snack: slice of bread
  • dinner: proper meal with meat, pasta or rice and vegetable
  • water consumption: around two litres throughout the day

With the pandemic going on, I work over the lunch period, so having something prepared in the morning helps me to get proper nutrition and not relying on leftovers :slight_smile:. I have chosen Huel Black as a lunch substitute for the lower carbohydrate content as I tend to have a lot of those in the evening.

No other eating or lifestyle habits have changed so I can only attribute the sleepiness to Huel.

I started a week ago with the recommended dose of 90g (400kcal). Within an hour of drinking, I get the fatigue that lasts until the evening. At first I thought I was not getting enough calories resulting in my body to save energy or something so I made it 135g (600kcal) from the weekend. This had no effect. I drink slowly, as long as it would take me to consume a meal.

I have no food intolerance. The exact same problem occurs after eating pho but I have not been able to correlate the problem with Huel. I have no problem with bread which rules out gluten intolerance.

I was hoping that if my body needs to adjust to a different kind of food, it would settle after one week but there has been no change during this period.

How big a portion of your diet was made up of carbs before you started having HB? If you’ve suddenly cut lots of carbs out that could definitely manifest as fatigue and lack of energy.

1 Like