Huel in school

Hi everyone – I’ve been eating Huel as a major part of my diet for at least two years, but I’ve only just joined this forum.

My daughters, 11 and 13, are now both at secondary school and are very environmentally conscious. They also don’t like school meals very much and they are keen on trying Huel for lunch at school, which I think would be great as otherwise they tend to take 1 bite out of a sandwich and then just eat crisps. I have Huel, I have shakers, it all seems like a great plan…

But it’s very difficult for me to convince the other stakeholders (wife, etc). People don’t seem to see Huel as ‘real food’ or at least not a ‘proper school lunch’. How eating one bite of a sweaty ham sandwich is a real lunch I don’t know, but that’s the prevailing attitude; it’s only lunch if it’s solid and greasy and in a plastic tub.

Has anyone else encountered this problem? How can we promote Huel in Schuel? Or perhaps it’s Hool in School…

3 Likes

Such a great potential avenue given how school meals can lack a lot of nutrition!

Would you daughters have access to a kettle or microwave at school? These are probably mainly accessible for older years/sixth formers etc but if they do have the option then I’d say Hot & Savoury would be the way to go.

It’s by far the most “mainstream” in our product range given that it’s whole grains, rice, veggies etc.All of us here on the forum know that all Huel is “real food”, but H&S is definitely more likely to be considered “real” by the non believers. :raised_hands:

PS - the thought of a sweaty ham sandwich has given me a massive wave of nostalgia!

Could you play that clip from the matrix when they are sitting around the table eating “tasty wheat”? You could say
“It’s a single-celled protein combined with synthetic aminos, vitamins, and minerals. Everything the body needs.”

Good luck, I admire you trying to create something healthier