I think I'm going to abandon Huel due to digestive issues :(

Hi guys,

So I have been using Huel for the past 3 months or so and I love the convenience, like the taste (2 scoops unflavoured and 1 scoop vanilla per 500ml) however it has always given me bowel problems :frowning_face:

I have gradually increased my Huel intake from 1 shake to 3 per day plus my normal 3 meals (circa 3.5k calories a day). What attracted me to Huel was the convenience of not having to cook so much but I think I’m going to stop taking it as it gives me terrible gas, bloating etc coupled with fairly frequent yet unsatisfactory bowel movements.

I was hoping this would pass as the weeks went by as my stomach and digestive system became used to it. This has not been the case however as the symptoms have remained constant. I have ordered some digestive enzymes on the off chance they will have a positive impact but failing that I will stop consuming Huel which is a shame.

I’m not even sure it is worth me trying some competitor versions as the good ones seem to contain basically the same ingredients?

Has anyone else had to stop consuming Huel for similar reasons?

Thanks

I was also going to give up on it, but then I discovered that adding a very small amount of oil (I used a level teaspoon of coconut oil, sometimes less, per shake) solved all my bloating and gas issues. I’m fairly nutrition savvy, but I have absolutely no idea why this worked.

1 Like

Ooh that’t interesting Essemmgee; as you say, I wonder why that works for you? I believe coconut oil is a natural anti inflammatory although it can also cause looser bowel movements… Maybe it is just the added fat content? I will try it and report back :slight_smile:

So if you don’t know why it would work, why would you try it? Was it the same methodology as Edison just testing everything he could think of?

Sorry to hear you aren’t getting along well with Huel. I hope you find something that works for you. Did the oil trick work?