My first experience!

Hi all,

I ordered my first batch of Huel (unsweetened and unflavoured) about two weeks ago - I got one week’s supply which ended up lasting my just shy of two weeks. I had it for breakfast and lunch most days, with a regular meal in the evenings. I think I ended up having about 700/850 calories for breakfast, and about 1250-ish for lunch, sipped over about an hour or so. Oh, and I’ve never tried anything like this before. I sometimes ended up being quite hungry when I got home from work, so with my next batch I’ll mix up some more, as I’m pretty sure I wasn’t getting as many calories as I should have been.

First impressions were good. It wasn’t as ‘floury’ as I was expecting, which was a pleasant surprise. The flavour was nice - it didn’t take any getting used to, and I’ve got to say that I really liked how not-sweet it was; it left a lot of room for some fun flavour experiments to happen (some good, some… interesting!). I often blended up raw ginger, cinnamon powder, and a bit of honey in with my Huel - very nice.

I have a rare half-autoimmune, half-autoinflammatory condition called Behçet’s (yay!) and over the course of my first two weeks on Huel, I didn’t feel hugely better, but just good (I must say at this point that I’m very lucky to never feel truly awful, or even ill from this condition, but there as been a noticeable improvement in my general health). My body felt more ‘balanced’; I was sleeping better; my overall mood was better; never felt bloated; never had a “food coma”, etc. I’ve also started exercising (mainly cycling, about 50+ miles a week), and found that it’s not as hard as it was before (I seem to recover quicker, and have less soreness the following day).