My journey with Huel

Hi all,

Hoping to lose weight and save money by using Huel.

I’ve struggled with my weight pretty much all my adult life.

I can remember when I was 16 I weighed 16 stone. Put that down to a lot of things.

I’m 6 foot 2 and big build so I can carry that weight.

When I left school and started work I used to cycle everywhere. I would do at least 6 miles a day.

I was a student nurse at the time with allocations to different wards and hospitals. I had an allocation to one that was about 10 miles away in the middle of the winter. I bought a moped and that was basically it for cycling.

Fast forward 25 years I am now a parent of two kids, I sit at a desk 4 days a week. I do a lot of volunteering - I am a school governor and I coach rugby.

I weigh 25 stone now. My knees are playing up and I don’t think I’m far off type 2 diabetes.

On the two days I go to the office I rush breakfast sorting the kids out then get lunch from the local asda with all the temptation that that puts in front of me.
I spend about £7 on lunch on those days.
I have crap afternoons as I feel my blood sugar crashing so I will often get a snack from a petrol station on the way home.

On the two days I work at home I tend to graze through the day on whatever is around.

I am a member of a local gym where I enjoy Pilates but I know I need to be doing more.

I can’t remember where I read about Huel but I like the idea and the branding.

I ordered a trial sample and found it ok.

I then went on to get some more, the vanilla one.

I got the chocolate flavouring.

I had Huel for breakfast yesterday and I felt full all morning. No urge to snack.

I am having it for breakfast today and will see how I get on. I am coaching rugby this morning so I will see if I feel hungry earlier.

I think long term I will use Huel everyday for breakfast and will then build up to using it for lunches too.

One thing that appeals to me is using it on the go.