Need advice on stomach pains and bloating

Hi,

I am new to Huel and need your advice. I took my first 400 calorie meal of Black Edition but I started getting stomach pains and bloating (I struggled to sleep). The 2nd time I tried a 200 calorie portion of Black Edition but I experienced the same issues.

Please note my digestion is generally poor and my stomach can easily get upset. I only have 5 Kg weight to lose but primarily I would like to replace one of my daily meals with Huel in the longer terms as it’s notoriously complete food.

My husband recently started Huel 2 weeks ago and he has had no issues at all going completely on Huel (he is taking 1200 calories from 3 meals of Huel a day but his body has easily adapted to Huel).

Please can you suggest any medicines (supplements, pro-biotics, any yogurts or anything which can help) which I can take with Huel and give it another try? - Thanks

Heya

Huel actually has a load of pre and pro biotics which can disrupt (make better!) your general stomach fauna.

You mentioned that your digestion wasn’t wonderful to begin with so, purely my uneducated opinion here, I wouldn’t be surprised if it was that which was causing you discomfort.

You also mentioned weight loss, which Huel can be brilliant for because it’s such an easy (and for me lazy lol) way to track calories. It can be done, very easily.

Loads of resources on this very website to help with using Huel for weight loss, I hope you don’t mind but I’ve recategorised your query from experiences to weight loss as I think you’ll get more traction and advice there.

Also take a look at this article by the team. I think there are more recent writings too, someone who keeps up better with the weight loss stuff will probably be along and link you:

Can it work? Yes of course it’s all a matter of Calories in being fewer than calories out. Exercise helps but really doesn’t make a vast amount of difference for general weight loss no matter what you see on television.