New to Huel - Aftertaste

Hello,

I am new to Huel, received my first pack through the post today. It’s the Vanilla v2.3.

I am the kind of person who will eat anything, I’ll happily try any food, even if it sounds awful. I also regularly have protein shakes.

I thought Huel would be an easy thing for me to adapt to, but I just could not handle the taste, specifically the aftertaste. The initial taste and texture is nice, but after that it tastes like a mouthful of chemicals and quite bitter. I really struggled to keep the first portion down (3 scoops and 400ml water in a blender), I came close to vomiting a few times. This has never happened with anything for me before.

Any advice? I have read that making it the night before and refrigerating overnight will help, so will try that for tomorrow.
I tried coffee mixed in, but that didn’t help the aftertaste.

I really want to get this to work for me.

Thanks

Hi there.

I am also new to Huel. I received my package yesterday but today is my first trying it out. I started out with one scoop and about 7-8 oz of water. Like you Im the type of person to “happily try any food, even if it sounds awful” but I definitely was not prepared for the taste. Maybe its because Im not used to taking any sort of protein or meal replacement shakes.

I was going to opt-in for the flavor booster with my original purchase but decided against because I didn’t want to spend money on something I might not like in the end. Now, Im kidding regretting not getting the flavor booster. After work Im planning on going to my local grocery store since they have a health section with powdered flavors so you can add them to your shakes.

Ill let you know how that pans out for me but the in the mean time Ive also read you can add fruits to your shake to give it a more flavor. You could give that a try. You can also check out the recipes section on the main site for a more tasty meal.

Joseph