New to Huel - Boring Personal Blog Type Thing

Apologies in advance for this excessive ramble (my wife’s always telling me to stop it)…

Hello all!

My very first delivery of Huel arrived today, so I figured I would share my experience as I start using it from tomorrow. More for my own benefit as a sort of motivation rather than thinking it will be of any real interest to anyone else. Maybe someone in a similar situation will stumble across this one day and find it helpful one way or another.

I’m a guy in my mid-30s, married for 6 years with two kids under 5. For most of my working life I worked in retail – starting as a shelf stacker and working my way up to a relatively senior manager role in a large supermarket chain. Every day I walked 2 miles to work, walked around for 10+ hours then walked 2 miles home again. I played 5 a side football twice a week and trained and played for an 11 a side team as well – lean and athletic, but never lifted weights or anything so fairly scrawny. My diet was never atrocious, but I pretty much just ate whatever I wanted and never gave it a second thought – toast, pre-pack sandwiches, chocolate, crisps, fizzy juice, out every Fri/Sat/Sun getting pissed with my mates, etc. Dominated by carbs and sugar.

Aged 28 I meet a girl who lives in another city 3 hours away. Long story short I end up moving and transferring my job, then leaving the company 5 years on, I’ve been working behind desks for pretty much the whole time and need to drive to work. I also run my own business which sees me at another desk most evenings.