Preparing Hot and Savory

I’ve been using Huel powder for 4 months now and have some Hot & Savory on its way.
I ordered pasta bolognese, Mexican chili, and sweet and sour.
What’s your preferred method of making?
Add boiling water or microwave?

Boiling water, and plenty of it too. Stir well, ten minute wait, stir again. maybe add a sprinkle of black pepper or whatnot… Lovely!

4 Likes

Boiling water for me too. I add 280ml to two scoops then stir well before leaving to sit with lid on for 10 mins which gives me the consistency I prefer.
Always make sure your dry ingredients are well mixed before scooping, can make a lot of difference to the finished product if not.

Thanks for the replies. I used the microwave method from the bag and the consistency was not the greatest for me.
I’ll try the boiling water method

For me it’s definitely boiling water too. We include a microwave method because in the US it isn’t as common to have a kettle (us Brits and our tea, eh!). So it’s much more common to heat up water in the microwave.

Let us know how you get along! If you’re still getting a little crunch after 5 mins then pop the lid back on a wait a little longer!

1 Like

My way is strange but works for me. I weight out portion in a bowl and then add the water cold. I let it sit a few hours then warm through in the microwave. Always nice and tender for me. :ramen:

4 Likes

After a bit of trial and error with the pasta meals, I measure mine out into a thermos food flask and take to work dry (with a generous pinch of pepper). 15-20 minutes before I want to eat it I add boiling water. I found that the Huel pot cools too quickly to cook the pasta but this works perfectly - also it stays warm if I want to wait longer. I tried making it before leaving home but it ends up a bit mushy.

2 Likes

+1 for boiling water. I would leave any with pasta for 10 minutes to soften. 5 minutes is fine for Chilli etc.