Running + Huel. My experience after 2 months

Hi,

I’ve been using Huel regularly for just over 2 months, building up to 4 shakes a day during the week (500ml water, 3 scoops) and a regular meal in the evening (I eat a predominantly pescatarian diet). I eat regularly at the weekend. I have also been using Huel as a recovery shake for training 3-4 times a week (2 scoops with 330ml of water), so I’m getting through a fair amount of packages during the month!

I’m a keen runner and train regularly, generally over 80 miles per week (unless tapering for a race) and have seen some pretty good improvements in my times during my change in diet. As an example, prior to using Huel I had run 16:48 for 5k, 34:51 for 10k and 77:08 for Half Marathon. Over the last month I now have best times of 16:28, 33:42 and 73:31 and am seeing my resting heart rate + average heart rate on my training runs dropping. I haven’t changed anything else with my training (other than an increase in mileage leading into my last half) and am curious to see if anybody else has noticed an increase in their athletic performance? I realise this could all be coincidental, but surely there must be something in it?

Apologies for the length of the topic, I just wanted to share my experience. If anybody else has had a similar one, let me know!

Cheers,

Jake.

4 Likes

Bloody hell, with those times I’m glad you’re not at our local parkrun, putting me to shame

You, sir, are a machine, those times are awesome!!!

Nik

4 Likes

Thanks Nik!

My missus is a keen parkrunner and most of our weekends away are centred around visiting a new one so it’s entirely possible we could end up visiting your local one! :slight_smile:

Jake.