Weight loss and vegetarian

Hi everyone, I am new to huel so have enjoyed looking at the boards. It was actually my GP who recommended I add huel as part of a health eating plan and deliberate calorie deficit plan. I’m a healthy 55 year old - blood pressure 125 , blood fats 3.6 and no diabetes or pre diabetes - but I got fat :frowning: I blame menopause lol). I do not weigh myself because i weigh heavy - even at a size 10 ( I’m 175cm - I am still 70kg so weighing Myself is depressing. For me it’s about measurements.
I am vegetarian (previously vegan) and my protein intake is woeful so I find myself picking at food . I’m also a stress eater. I swim 3 times a week but have just had a PT session and am going to start weight training soon. Just wanna get some fat off first. I started a week ago swapping the evening meal for a huel. I’m eating porridge made with water for breakfast and having a low carb low calorie lunch and no snacking at all. Already I feel more energetic. I’m hopeful !!

Hey Lucy, welcome to the Huel forum.

Try not to be too hard on yourself. If you don’t like weighing yourself, but it’s something you’ve agreed upon with your GP then try and do it weekly (at the same time) rather than daily. Your weight will fluctuate day-to-day so what you’re looking for is a downward trend. If weighing yourself is affecting your mental health chat to your GP about another way of measuring your progress like taking photos.

Protein will help make that weight loss a little easier but so will fibre. With that porridge at breakfast try having a low-fat plant-based milk instead of water for some more protein and you could also add a scoop of protein powder.

You can check out this article for more info, let me know if you have any questions.

1 Like

Thanks Dan that’s good advice. I usually use unsweetened oat milk so will add that to the porridge.

I found daily (or at least most days) walking really helped shift fat.