Where To Start?!

Hi there!

Keen to start using Huel, seen it on a Facebook and seems far more ‘thought out’ than similar meal replacement shakes. Please don’t get me started on Herbalife :triumph:
I have an unusual issue though- I basically need to lose quite a lot of weight- like 21lbs ideally whilst remaining strong. I’m an amateur jockey and have a very disorganised diet. I bought Huel would be a great way to keep me going through the day and then have a nice healthy meal in the evening. I know everyone says they don’t have time to eat breakfast/lunch but I literally do. Not. Stop. I end up grazing all day and I’m too chubby.
So my questions are:

1. Which one do I buy? What’s the diff between regular Huel and the Sports one?
  2. How much do I take if I want to lose weight but not feel like a complete wet lettuce. My brain needs to work.
  3. Should I eat a normal meal and what % of my overall calories should Huel take up?!

Any advice would be helpful. It’s kind of weird because I actually need to be slightly lighter than my body naturally wants to be. Which is obvs not ideal but it’s my choice!

Hello and welcome!

The sports one is certified doping-free for professional athletes, like the gluten free is certified to have less than 5 parts of gluten per million instead of 20 parts per million, for who has celiac disease. If you aren’t in those two categories, go for the normal cheaper one :slight_smile:

That depends on how much calories you spend during the day. You could use a TDEE calculator https://tdeecalculator.net/ to have a basic idea of it. Usually the guideline is going 500cal less than what you would need. But I’ll leave a better answer to someone more expert than me :slight_smile:

Depends on what you want. Huel is not a magic diet product, is normal food. So you replace solid food with Huel as much as you like, one meal or 100%. I suggest to start with only one meal, just to better adapt to the dietary change, and then see.