Experience from an Emergency Service Shift-Worker

Hello all,

I’m new to Huel; a week in now and throughly enjoying my experience so far. I’ll be honest, I was really sceptical at first, as with most things you see these protein shakes as almost gimmicks for dieting. However after trying a mates Huel, I was blown away with it.

I live and work in London, and work at all times of the day and night on a response team for the Met. This has played havoc with my diet. I’ve always been a big guy, but working shifts on a busy borough where actually having a sit down meal is almost frowned upon, it’s been easy for me to put the weight on. A BLT sandwich at the local BP garage is neither healthy, or helpful on be purse strings.

When I started Huel 7 days ago, I weighted in at 119kg. I’m 6"1 and the ripe age of 22. I’ve found Huel to be delicious, filling, it’s given me more energy and I’ve felt less fatigued around and during shifts. It’s convenient, easy to prepare, eat and carry. I throw it into my kit bag, and I don’t have to worry about going hungry in a shift, or being stuck on a crime scene with no refreshments.

7 days later and I’ve weighted in at 116.5kg, however I did have a bit of a restbite from Huel yesterday, and ate some healthy, but heavy food.

I feel that this forum has been amazing at giving people motivation to continue to their goals. With mine being to hopefully drop to around 15-16 stone naturally over a non-set period of time with the help of Huel.

I’ve been drinking Huel for almost all meals, with the odd trip to the cafe for an omelette thrown in. However today was the first time I’ve drank it with water, and was again pleasantly surprised at how nice it is. I have been drinking it with skimmed and semi skimmed milk, but I might stop that and just do it for a treat on occasion.

I aim to have 2 scoops for breakfast, 3 for lunch and roughly 2/3 in the evening. However this was with Milk, so about 600 calories a day came from just the milk.