Huel for Shift Worker = Yes!

Hello All.

Thought I would give it a week on Huel before I made any comments.

Worked hard in January and lost 1st in weight. But then the office I work in basically had some kind of cold / chest infection for about 2 months. Coupled with working shifts my diet and exercise went completely south!

So back to square 1.

I am a Railway Cop, so we spend a lot of time travelling on the Network. We grab food when we can normally from Station outlets. So think Upper Crust / BK / M+S at best!

I needed a solution that would get me back on track ( Railway joke ) and stop me eating crap food during a 10 hour shift, and provide me with everything that my body needs.

Weight loss secondary. I know I will loose weight. I have cut out alcohol, I am training and running again so it will happen.

Done my calorie calculator and have been realistic and only dropped 500 cals per day, thinking long term not short term as I know that LCD invite failure eventually.

3 shakes 3 scoops and then a balanced meal in evening or lunch dependant on shift.

Week one. All positive. 3lbs lost in weight, a little too much possibly but we will see how it settles down on a week by week basis. More importantly I have not had to buy any crap food and do not feel at all like I am starving / Hungry.

So for me so far its all good!

5 Likes

Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

I think Huel can make the biggest difference to people who do very busy jobs. We had a paramedic on here saying it was great to swig on between his emergency call outs. Hopefully you people can spread the word to your colleagues.

I definitely like the thought of our emergency services being well-fueled with good nutrition.

Anyway, big respect to you for what you do. I’m sure you have a very tough job and have to be the one to pick up the pieces when awful things happen.