Huel and Chronic Gastritis & GERD

Just wanted to write a very short thank you post. I’ve suffered from chronic gastritis and reflux for over two years and had been put on quite high doses of PPIs in order to keep it under control.

I started replacing breakfasts with Huel back in August, because the high doses of PPIs were affecting nutrient absorption, and also I am vegetarian so find it quite hard to keep my protein intake high enough to counteract these side effects.

Huel surpassed my expectations. I’ve always been breakfast-ambivalent and gone for the easiest quickest meal so I could get on with my day, so it’s been a huge dietary improvement. It’s enabled me to wean myself completely off the PPIs (very slowly, to avoid rebound acid) and it’s now been over a fortnight since I’ve taken any omeprazole and currently have no gastritis or reflux symptoms at all.

I am not a doctor, and I can’t claim that it was solely Huel that caused the improvement (I have been trying some other things along side), but I’m pretty sure it’s been a big factor in my recovery.

Thank you :slight_smile:. Still planning to continue having Huel for breakfast and have started replacing some lunches too when time-pressed (and lazy :grin:)

9 Likes

Very positive. Good to hear all’s in the right direction

1 Like

I know this is old, but couldn’t find another post with the same topic. I also suffer from gastritis, and have trouble eating enough calories. Huel looks like a possible solution to that problem. Which flavor of Huel did you end up using? I’d prefer the vanilla, but I’m worried that the sweetener will irritate my stomach.

Hi mute :slight_smile: I have the vanilla and add toffee flavouring to it with no issues with irritation. Although I’m sure you can get samples of sweetened and unsweetened to see which suits you best.