Tips for beginners?

Hey all!

I’m noticing that there hasn’t been a good ‘tips for beginners’ thread around here (the only one was 8 months ago and didn’t take off!)

I’m new to Huel, I literally just had my first order delivered and I’m looking to get started. Like a fair few, I’m here for the weight loss (I started the ‘couch to 5k’ program a couple weeks ago!) and so I’m looking to go hard or go home with this ‘get fit’ thing!

Does anyone have any general tips or advice? Things new people might not realise or notice etc? Let me know! :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi Hamish

I started my Huel a week ago and am also looking to lose some weight. I’ve found it easy to have around 1900 calories a day with a 40/30/30 macro ratio. That’s two Huel shakes a day, breakfast & lunch, snacks such as nuts and a protein bar, and a nice cooked meal on the evening. I add banana & blueberries or raspberries to my Huel shakes to make them taste more like a smoothie.

I’ve been feeling full all day every day and must say I’m finding 1900 calories a day quite easy, whereas I’d easily eat 2500+ a day previously and still be hungry regularly.

Too early to say if I’m losing weight but I’m thoroughly enjoying my new regime :slight_smile:

Good luck !!

Thanks Tubby_Graver!

I’m 6’4 and 95.7kg, I’m looking to drop to 80kg at first and seeing if I ‘look’ better (I’m not exactly fat, but I do have a bit of a love handle going on, which I want to stop before it gets worse!).

I’m planning on doing something similar, using Huel as two meals a day (breakfast/lunch) for 1000 calories, then using dinner & light snacking (if necessary) to bring me up to 17-1900 calories a day.

Prior to this I wasn’t really active either, which is why I’m also doing my running program three days a week - so hopefully between the two I’ll be on my way to looking fit and feeling fine!