U/U huel

Hi everyone!

Ok, I’m going to admit to being a little bit of a traitor here, but I had a very good reason…

I’m relatively new to the world of Huel and rave over the berry/mint-choc flavours. I desperately wanted to try the U/U Huel, but didn’t want to spend the full amount without knowing whether I’d like it. So I took to an online auction site, where I purchased some gluten free U/U. It was sealed and unopened, but rather quite old - went out of date in November ‘17, though due to the nature of Huel, I assumed it’d be ok.

I find the U/U’s lack of flavour to be extremely overpowering. It seems to work well with boosts (except cacao/caramel where I can’t taste a thing), but I’ve tried mixing it with soups and can’t seem to do anything decent with it.

It’s really difficult to describe the taste of something unflavoured, but I’d compare the smell to that of the caramel boost, and the taste to resemble mixing flour and water - quite a bitter but pronounced taste.

My question is - is this just the way the U/U Huel is, or could some of the other factors (v2.2, gluten free, out of date) play a part in my dislike for it? I don’t want to give up and am tempted to not be a cheapskate and buy the full price stuff, but would love to hear others thoughts on the matter.

You’re brave… buying something opened and out of date…
You have no way of knowing how long it’s been open and how it’s been stored.
It could well be spoiled.
I can see the temptation tho, in order to try it.
But it’s £20 for a fresh and sealed bag (you could buy one of another flavour that you know you like, to make up the order) - and if you don’t like it, it’s easy to flavour with boosts or other recipes.

I am a regular with the UU gluten free and it definitely doesn’t normally smell like caramel boost. To me, it tastes like plain porridge, and pea protein. I really like it, but I know lots of people find it unpalatable.