V.3 vs Black

So I’ve been using v.3 powder for a while but am curious to try Black edition. I know they have different macros and ingredients but I just want to know what the main flavour and textural differences are between the two?

I’m not sure about the difference (I personally couldn’t taste a noticeable difference), but I love the Black Huel Chocolate version!

hi ooboo, hope you don’t mind the question? Do you add anything to the BE Chocolate? I am a newbie to Huel and don’t enjoy the Chocolate flavour at all. The only way I can actually drink it is to add some nesquik…

you could try add some plant based chocolate milk with the water or a little instant chocolate malted drink powder or some complimentary flavours that will add to or deepen the chocolate taste like a little prune juice, some coconut cream, powdered peanut butter, vanilla extract (commercial chocolate candy bars use vanillin to soften the natural bitter chocolate taste) or if you have a blender - frozen cherries, peanut butter, honey etc.

2 Likes

You could also try the chocolate flavour boost. I tend to use vanilla and add some of the chocolate FB and I prefer that flavour, I haven’t tried adding it to chocolate powder though. Alternatively you could try adding some cocoa powder?
@Phil_C adding some plant based chocolate milk sounds good!

1 Like

The standard powder is very gritty, if you prefer a smooth texture Black Edition may be a better choice. Although I don’t know whether this applies to all flavours, as natural flavourings are used which also have a texture of their own. Another difference is the sweetener that is used. Some find the tase of steviol-sweeteners weird, bitter, with a slightly cooling or artificial aftertaste. How pronounced this is varies from person to person, and may also be depend on the flavour that is used.