What's with the 400 cals?

I just came back to Huel finishing off my old stock and ordering some H&S.
The branding, the free mug and the instructions for the H&S talk about two scoops or 400 cal meals.
Looking further, all the branding (price per meal etc) talk about 400 cal meals.
Now I’m no maths expert but 400 cal meals x 3 makes a 1200 cal day. That’s way short!

Anyway, I use three scoops and I’m wondering why we are talking about 400 cal meals which seems like too little to me

Thanks,
H

Its not designed for three meals a day, is the very simple answer here.

If you check out all the literature etc it talks about 4-5 meals a day (I mix it up with bars and H&S to get to around 1800).

Although it’s a complete meal, It’s not necessarily designed to have just huel.

400 Kcal for breakfast or lunch is about right, allowing most people to have larger home cooked meal in the evening. That being said if you were to go 100% huel it’s designed to have lots of small portions throughout the day.

I see.
Maybe it’ changed form when I started my journey 3.5 years ago. Or maybe I just didn’t pay much attention.

Anyway, a 400 cal breakfast or lunch just doesn’t do it for me so I’ll continue to scoop up :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Yeah best way really, “you do you” as they say.

My breakfast is usually a coffee enhanced Black Edition Chocolate shake “+ a bar of some description so that’s 600 calories minimum right there, so totally get where you’re coming from.

1 Like

It’s simply to put a recommended serving.

400kcal has many advantages:

• relatively small; ppl with less caloric needs can have a 400kcal meal
  • Easy to divide and multiply (20% of your DV; 1/5th of your daily-- based in 2,000kcal)
  • 100g are roughly 400kcal in most meal replacement products
  • Many meal replacement companies have 400kcal servings (including Soylent) which makes this measurement standardize and helps transition from one another
  • Still filling for 3h+ for most people