Breakfast-skipper - does it matter?

Hi there,

I’m new to Huel - on my first week, but sure I’ll be sticking with it.

My query is about whether being someone who doesn’t eat breakfast, whether this would make me less likely to lose weight on Huel?

I’ve never really been much of a breakfast person, and now I’m trying to lose weight - I’m even less keen to grab anything for breakfast because it’s extra calories. I’m getting in to the habit of having Huel for lunch, a low calorie afternoon snack and then dinner - plus 30 mins on exercise bike in the evening.

I know everyone says “breakfast is the most important meal of the day”, but after a quick Google, I’m not convinced it’s as crucial as people say.

Thanks

1 Like

Skipping breakfast is good for you! If you are only eating between between 12 and 8 then you are fasting for 16 hours. Fasting is good for you.

There is no special rule to dieting. As long as calories in is less than calories out then you will lose weight.
Fasting helps dieting for me as it means I can eat 2000 calories between 12 and 8 so I’m not hungry in this period and my body has adjusted to not eating for another 16 hours.

However if I eat breakfast I am then starving come 11-12 so it’s counter productive! More calories and more hungry!

8 Likes

Wow, that would definitely not work for me. If I skipped breakfast I’d be dead by about 10am and then pig out at lunch time. Terrible. I find that consistent well proportioned meals throughout the day sustains me.

5 Likes

I was never a breakfast person, could never face food, but since I started Huel I have a Huel breakfast most days. Not necessarily first thing, but by 10.30am.

I have lost weight, although it wasn’t really my intention…but I was a little heavier than I liked.

I see merits in fasting too…and find 16 hour fasting quite easy, although on a fasting day I wouldn’t eat 2000kcal between 12 and 8.

1 Like