How to use Huel when treking

Hello Huel users! I am completely new to Huel and think about buying it for backpaking and long treks. I am just little bit afraid of the practical way of using it. If I am in the woods for let’s say one week with limited resources of drinkable water, I am afraid that I would need to waste a lot of water just to clean the shaker. How do you do this and how do you store the powder when you are on trek? Is it ok to prepare the Huel in advance? How do you store it in this case? Every gram matters. Would you recommend to use Huel in this situation or not? Thanks for any advice!

1 Like

I don’t speak from personal experience, but you could decant the Huel into portion sized ziplocks, if you want compact, or just carry a full pouch or two. If you don’t have clean water though it is tricky, that’s how Nestle managed to kill loads of kids.

It’s one of the reasons I never buy their products: https://www.theguardian.com/sustainable-business/nestle-baby-milk-scandal-food-industry-standards

You can prepare in advance but if you are backpacking in heat it will soon be horrible. You wouldn’t want to make it up more than a day in advance anyway. You could take pre-bottled but that’s heavy.

Could take some bars as well.

2 Likes

Hi Knut. What would you have been eating/drinking if you take Huel out of the equation?

1 Like

Hi Bee, I usually eat freeze-dried food. It requires water as well but less than Huel and just for preparing the dish, not for cleaning.

3 Likes

If you’re trekking in the UK (?) I’ve found there is never any shortage of friendly locals who are willing to let me fill my water containers. Some are even happy to let you use their facilities, especially if you don’t have an expectation of it being free and are willing to offer money or your time to chat.